Foodie Thursday

My Wednesday was pretty chill and consisted of interning, making dinner, napping, watching the end of SYTYCD then sleeping. Twas glorious. My Thursday was an amazing, relaxing day. 

I went to the gym at my school (SO lucky to still be able to use this!) There’s one in the basement of my building, but it’s really small and has no free weights at all. I Usually like to do some weightlifting and the just cardio on my other days. I love being able to use this gym in the summer because there is NO ONE there. Its maybe me and 2 or 3 other people. No waiting, no crowding, no hot gym, no starers, grunters or stinkies! I don’t know about anyone else, but when I go to the gym for me, it is my time and I like to really zone out. I love to go to classes and be part  of a group, but I also love my me time to just stretch, workout and listen to my music. 

I had breakfast 

Image

strawberry & banana oatmeal 

steel cut oats, almond milk, 1/2 banana, strawberries, topped with roasted almonds

went grocery shopping, hit the gym & had lunch 

Image

whole wheat toast with egg, topped with cheddar cheese

Then I met up with my friend Kat in Bryant Park. We were gonna grab some dinner at a cafe and eat in the park, but seeing as it was hot, and my walk through Time Square just brought back humid, unpleasant memories of being at Seaworld & Disney World (is it me or is it just always uncomfortable hot there?) Kat had the great idea of looking on Scoutmob for dinner. 

Now, I love a good deal. Sample sales, free samples…actually really any sale or anything free makes my day.  (Hey I’m on  a student’s budget here and most of my $ goes towards fabric, lace, elastic trims and crystals)

I should work for Scoutmob, seeing as I promote their business to everyone I meet. It’s a college kids gem! And seeing as there are sooo many great restaurants in NYC, it’s a great way to try a bunch of different places without killing your savings. It’s truly Amazing. Well we found one close for the Broadway Lounge. At first I wasn’t sure. I though hmmm “lounge” sounds a little fancier than the jean cutoffs and tube top I was currently sporting, but we went for it anyway. We spent so long looking for it before realizing it was on the 8th floor of the Marriott hotel in Times Sq. I was skeptical, but quickly changed my tune when I saw the place. It was awesome. The restaurant overlooked all of Time Sq. and was very chill. 

Image

Check out the view!

Image

 

We got the fried pickle appetizer with some awesome tasting sweet sauce

Image

These pickles were cut thick and slightly sweet, which I loved. I like when there is more pickle and less fried breading. 

ImageImage
 
They specialized in a tapas/ street food menu with small plates of food. We both got the grilled shrimp tacos. 
These were soo yummy and right up my alley! And can we please talk about the adorable presentation of these bad boys!? I like the taco rack. No toppings spilling all over the place : )
 
Corn tacos with guacamole, red onions, radish slivers, grilled shrimp, cilantro and lime with a spicy green chile sauce on the side. 
 
I’m definitely going to have to make these on my own for dinner one night!
 
And seeing as the scenery was so lovely of course we had to get some photos in. 
Image
Image
Image
and because I can never end the night without making a ridiculous face. 
 
TTFN and have a wonderful evening!
Leave a Reply

