If you’re a bird, then I’m a bird

Sunday was one of the best, funniest and most unexpected days I’ve had in the city! From start to finish I was laughing hysterically (my abs literally were sore the next day!) It was just a blast! So sit down & get ready for a lengthy, picture filled post!

It started with a lovely Brunch at The Toucan and the Lion, a swanky little restaurant/ bar in the LES. One of our friends was bar-tending there, so we decided to stop by, have some food and say hello. I love how in NYC you don’t just eat brunch you “do brunch”…as in it’s a whole separate activity in of itself. I absolutely love this concept… Here’s why:

1. you get to eat breakfast foods…nuff said!

2. You don’t have to wake up before noon to do so

3. It’s perfectly acceptable to indulge in several drinks whilst eating breakfast

4. Best time to recap the weekend’s previous shenanigans (brought on by #3)

Image

Good Friends!

Image

Good atmosphere

Image

Awesome planter lights! so creative!

and of course amazing food!

Image

See that little pitcher to the left side? That’s white chocolate milk!!! I was deeee-licious over the granola!

Image

I got the “Grande Granola”

At first I was skeptical because I was very hungry…and this didn’t seem all that “grande” to me when it appeared, but boy was it filling! I don’t even think I finished it!

Image

My friend Yaz’s french toast….so pretty!

After a lovely brunch, with lovely drinks, and many laughs, we decided to meet one of Sydney’s friend’s Matt in Central Park. Can you believe this was the first time I had been to the park this year!?….such shame!

After a somewhat traumatic train experience (someone *cough..kat…cough* got caught in the doors) we headed back to our places, sunscreened up and changed into comfy clothes and headed to the park.

Of course we pregamed for park fun with….. Ice Cream!

Image

Mr Softee vanilla, with cookie crumbles! Image

Yaz and Syd with their rainbow cones

Image
Image
Doesn’t this cloud look like an elephant!? I miss looking for cloud animals. I think last time I did that I was about 6 years old. haha
Image
Sydney looking like a model…Matt photobombing.
So now it’s story time!
While we were sitting down in the field, there were a couple groups of people doing back handsprings, back tucks, aerials and other awesome acrobatics. Then in another spot there was a group doing what looked like partner acrobatics and stunting. It looked pretty cool and we guessed that they were some sort of circus group. Well we all took turns doing our own various cartwheels, jumps, summersaults & handstands. (they’re contagious in the park. once one person starts, about 10 others start doing their own various tricks) After a while me and Kat decided to take a crack at doing our own partner acrobatics and trying to mimic their stunts. They were starting out with what looked like a version of the “airplane game” (I did this as a kid with my parents all the time)
Image
Image
Image
We actually didn’t do too bad if I do say so myself!
Well while we were attempting to do this, a man from the actual acrobat posse comes over and asks us if we wanted him to show us how to actually do the stunts.
ummm yeah! of course! We were really excited to learn how to do this!
It turns out, what we were trying to copy, is a form of yoga called “Acroyoga”, which is a mix of yoga poses and concentration with partner acrobatics. Who knew this even existed?!?
He proceeded to show us different poses and we all took turns trying them out with each other.
Image
This one is called “Bird”
Image
Planking Like a Boss!!!     (PS: please take notice of Kat’s facial expressions! priceless!)
Image
If you had asked me if I thought I would be doing camel pose on a stranger’s feet when I went to the park that day…well I would have called you loco!!!
Image
I call this one “Hi stranger whose name I don’t know”  haha!
     A little awkward…yes, but it was a really fun day and Im definitely going to take an Acroyoga class sometime in the near future! Being a former gymnast and cheerleader, I thought this was an awesome experience and reminded me of how much I miss stunting and tumbling! Its just really fun to see what crazy things your body is capable of doing! We did several other poses including, Throne, High Flying Whale and lots more bird!
(really all I want to do is join the circus and flip around on stuff….haha!…but seriously)
Image
After much coaxing, we got Matt to give it a try. This is “High FLying Whale”
“Im flying Jack! I’m flying!!”
“If you’re a bird, then I’m a bird!”
“Im like a bid, I wanna fly away ayyyy”
these were all said in teasing…but c’mon!? Is that not the face of pure joy right there?!?
(or awkward laughter in his case maybe haha)
After our stunting session, we learned a little more about acroyoga and our yogi teacher (apparently a scientist, wants to work for facebook, studied acroyoga for 8 months, likes healthy cookies, doesn’t like shoes, and met his cousin for the first time in 6 years…he had a lot of stories haha)
We then headed out of the park and got dinner at a Thai place
Image
More cool lighting fixtures! Eat your heart out Pinterest!
Image
My tofu veggie stir fry with peanut sauce (It was very peanut buttery…so of course I loved it!)
Image
yummy!
It’s days like this that I love being in NYC and am reminded about what a unique and diverse city I live in! You never know what’s going to happen and there’s always so much to explore!
and because there just weren’t enough picture and I spent extensive time laughing at this…
If you look very closely, this man is in the background of my plank picture
Image
Bahaha! so funny! doesn’t he look like a vampire slayer or something!? Just check out the stance!
this guys was next to us, balancing on his little board, and was really amusing to listen too!
Leave a Reply

