How bout dem Apples!

This weekend/past week has been exciting, busy, stressful, informative and relaxing all at the same time!

This last weekend (which feels like forever ago!) we had Monday and Tuesday off from school, me and my roommate went to her hometown in Connecticut for a “Friendaversary” and to cross off a long-time bucket list item of mine

Apple Picking! 

It was a little warm to be apple picking, but we had to take advantage of the long weekend and I must say….it was a blast!

We started the day off with homemade pancakes! so yummy!

Can we please talk about this view! I don’t get to see wide open spaces very much, so when I find myself back in nature, it’s like a 5 year old’s level of excitement.

Along with apples the farm also had pears, peaches and pumpkins

We each bought a small sugar pumpkin to decorate (and I have plans to try and cook them for some legit made-from-scratch pumpkin goods…I forsee a long and messy process hehe)

What can I say….I keep it classy!

They also had beautiful peaches! I have soo many now, I’m trying to figure out what to do with them all! Believe it or not, this is the first time I have seen a peach tree, And ever since, I’ve been on a bit of a peach kick (recently had ridiculously good peach beer and peach ice cream…separately obviously)

 

Me and my roommate. We’re really children at heart, which is why we get along so well: )

This cider was so delicious! I can’t wait until fall is in full swing to grab some hot cider on cold days.

This is just half of it. Not too bad for unlimited apple picking, but there’s no way I can go through those peaches before they start to go mushy, so I froze a bunch for smoothies. Also, please note the GIANT apple in the right corner! It’s almost as big as the baby pumpkin…crazy!

I have been putting peaches in oatmeal & smoothies, but am looking for other ways too…I’m thinking crepes or a peach cobbler type dessert….ya know in all the spare time I have just lyin around (so sad  and so true)

Well I’m glad I got to share this trip with y’all! I have more fun updates from life and plan to show a bit more of what I do here at school.

tata and have a wonderful week!

and if anyone has any great peach or apple recipes for sharing please do!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “How bout dem Apples!

Leave a Reply

