Storm Chili & Chocolate

Hello People!

I would first just like to say that I am extremely lucky to have avoided any flooding, damage or power loss due to Hurricane Sandy and wish all of my friends downtown and in NJ the best in getting back power and restoring and damage to homes. Thankfully we were safe here in our place and were well prepared for the storm with food, water and flashlights.

Last night was probably the darkest and quietest I have ever experienced our street since the building across from ours and street lights were all out of power last night.

Here is a picture of one of the subway stations. This is crazy! I am just so thankful that we were not caught in the worst of it and are all safe and sound and that I have so many friends that checked in with me to see if everything was a-OK!

Now that Y’all know the updates from Sandy (which by the way…I couldn’t resist singing Grease songs and we watched the movie in her honor “Sandy can’t you see…that I’m in misery” …ok it is in bad taste, but we couldn’t resist!) Anywho…let me show yall my cooking endeavors as of late.  I had a friend travel abroad to Iceland and bring me back what can only be described as “a sh*t ton of chocolate” I did my best to not dive face first into this pile. However, the timing couldn’t have been worse as it was a certain time of the month when my junk food cravings hit with a vengeance. I usually eat very healthy and  don’t have sweets except for smoothies or the occasional piece of dark chocolate (even then, I’m talking 85-90% cocoa) However, this week I was craving junk food like a mad woman! So I had some of the chocolate, but also got a bit resourceful and used some of it for our Intimate Apparel Club bake sale.

Also …not to self: Brownie batter and hormonal cravings are not a great mix….I definitely did my share of bowl licking and brownie “testing” (what? someone has to make sure they’re edible!)

I made one batch of brownies then covered them with melted chocolate from a couple of the bars I got as a gift. They were very very good!

Also, if you ever have a pan of brownies that are too fudgey (apparently this isn’t a word?) and gooey to get out of the pan neatly, simply roll them into brownie balls and cover in more chocolate then refrigerate. Voila! Brownie batter truffles are born! These babies would be fudge brownies with peanut butter chips and almonds covered in milk chocolate… or as I like to call them: “crack balls”. Im glad we gave these to the bake sale because they never would have survived a day around me. Seriously yummy!

Since the weather has been getting colder up here, a chili & cornbread craving hit me once the chocolate one subsided (thank goodness) I wanted to make a good vegetarian chili and decided to wing it and throw a bunch of stuff in a pot, but it turned out really great and the perfect comfort food to have for waiting out the storm inside all day.

 

I combined

1/2 a 280z can diced tomatos

1 can diced fire roasted tomatos (these from TJs were quite spicy)

1 can white kidney beans

1 can black beans

4 stalks celery

1/2 a sweet onion

1 small can green ciles

1 T Chili Powder

1 tsp red pepper flakes

1 tsp garlic powder  (fresh would be better, but I only had the spice)

1 tsp Cumin

1/2 tsp Paprika

salt & pepper to taste.

I also crumbled a block of firm tofu and fried it in olive oil and the same chili spices to replicate  a ground beef texture for the chili. Once I put it all together along with some cheese, it was a perfect fall dinner!

I also made pumpkin cornbread to go with this which is really yummy. I did use a bread mix, but replaced all the oil with pumpkin. Really yummy! my Nana on my mother’s side makes the most amazing skillet cornbread from scratch and this made me a little nostalgic for my Alabama family.

well have a good rest of the week! I am out of school today and possibly tomorrow as well so this could potentially be a one day school week for me (which means a chance to get all caught up on my work)

next post will be an update of my Halloweekend! The pics are hilarious and Im excited to share our shenanigans!

Question:

Do you get cravings for sweets or junk food? 

If so do you indulge a bit or go by the “out of sight out of mind” mentality and not keep any around?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Storm Chili & Chocolate

  1. Glad to hear you’re OK! My best friend (who I’m visiting in like 1.5 weeks) lives in the financial district downtown so she had to evacuate 😦

    I am of the “out of sight, out of mind” mentality, but that doesn’t work so great when I’m at work and have to stock the candy bowl for the office! I’ve definitely eaten my share of Halloween candy this past week or so!

  2. Brownie batter truffles? Genius. You’ve just revolutionized my life! And I totally feel you on the hormonal chocolate cravings… It’s a real thing! We women don’t just make it up!

  3. I think anyone that NEVER gets cravings for sweets or junk food is not actually a human! I usually get cravings when I haven’t eaten square meals with sufficient protein, which never works out because I end up eating sugary things with little protein…oh well. I’m glad that you survived Sandy, and your chili and cornbread look amazing!

Leave a Reply

